The Council of Ministers of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, was the de jure government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), comprising the main executive and administrative agency of the USSR from 1946 until 1991.

The Council of Ministers was the manager of the government’s executive part. Formed at a joint meeting of the Soviet of the Union and the Soviet of Nationalities, it consisted of a Premier, several First Deputies, Deputies, ministers, Chairmen of the state committees and the Chairmen of the Council of Ministers of the Soviet Republics. The Premier of the Council of Ministers could also recommend people who he found suitable for membership of the Council of Ministers to the Supreme Soviet. The Council of Ministers ended its functions on each first-convocation of a newly elected Supreme Soviet.

Responsible and accountable to the Supreme Soviet and during the period between convocations of the Supreme Soviet, the Council of Ministers was accountable to the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet and regularly reported to the Supreme Soviet on its work, as well as being tasked with resolving all state administrative duties in the jurisdiction of the USSR which were not the responsibility of the Supreme Soviet or the Presidium.

Our Father Stalin wants under his command to lead the Soviet Union to victory and its glory days. Will you take the challenge? No? Off you go to gulag then…

-Open Agenda Item

STUDY GUIDE: Click here to see the file.